Letter to the Prime Minister

Dear Prime Minister,

Let’s pretend you will read this letter and value my opinion. I’m writing to you to express my frustration towards the unjust tax system. I am a hard working law abiding individual on an average salary. I worked extra hours and managed to earn myself an extra £350, which I thought would come in very useful in January. Of this I naturally expected to pay my usual taxes (which I have no objection to). I was offended when I received my pay slip to find that HMRC had only paid me £136 of this additional money. This means I received 38.9% of the hard work I invested. I would also like to point out that I am by no means in the high tax bracket. I realise that £350 may not seem a lot to you. Perhaps the equivalent to a cheap bottle of wine, but to me it is a lot. I would like you to look me in the eye and explain to me how you think penalising the hard working public will encourage people to work. What is the benefit to us putting in hours of work to receive such an insulting proportion of our wages? I put it to you Mr Prime Minister, that you are creating a work environment so hostile to the general public that no one will want to work anymore. If we lose the ambition of a nation, where will we be? Rather than quibbling and insulting each other in the House of Commons like five year old children, I suggest you perhaps took a step back and assessed the system. Maybe you would realise that if you cut taxes, people are more inclined to work, and you would not only have a greater proportion of people in work, but you would also have a gain in overall tax. With multiple large companies closing down in the UK, making 1000’s of people redundant, and moving abroad, where more competitive rates are encountered, does it not make you wonder how your system is no longer viable? I used to be proud to be British. I loved living in a country where anyone could be or do whatever they wanted as long as they were willing to work hard. We are so fortunate to have a society where children can get a free education and continue from there. If one would chose to go to University, we would now have to pay £45 000 in fees alone for a five year degree. Let us not forget the additional living expenses that go on top of that. You say, we only have to pay it back once we earn a certain salary. With interest rates the way they are, we would be lucky if anybody manages to pay back the money. How are people able to get a mortgage or invest in a business? Education is now becoming a privilege, and as a result only the well-off will benefit. Again, you are creating an environment that encourages people to move and study abroad, where they will not incur these indecent charges.

Let’s go back to the money rudely deducted from my salary. I do realise that a proportion of the money deducted went towards paying off my student loan. We are not all as fortunate to obtain an Eton education and have parents pay our tuition fees. The majority of us have to take out loans. I propose to you that you put yourself into the shoes of somebody on an average income, who tries to make ends meet for just one week. How would you support yourself, a child or even an elderly person? I would love to see the changes in policies made if you were to have your monthly allowance reduced to that of an average working person, paying rent, bills and general living costs. I would also like to see a simpler, transparent tax system, which does NOT exceed 1000 pages to cover up loop holes that probably mainly politicians exploited. I don’t consider myself to be a stupid person, but I like many others find it impossible to understand the tax code. It is by far one of the most complicated ones in Europe and I suggest you look at other countries to comprise a better template.

I would love to hear your response to my points and your reasoning for punishing the hard working people of Great Britain. I realise that you will never read this letter, and that you will probably never listen. But if I don’t talk, then nothing will change. So, I’m talking.

Kind regards,

Miri Isla Hollar

Leave a Reply

